30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 22

I found this blog challenge and thought it would be fun to do along side my other posts. The questions are posted all over but here’s where I grabbed them from.

Question 22: Do I charge money (or other ways of compensation) for my readings/services?

I never have because I rarely read for others. But I wouldn’t hesitate to if I got comfortable enough to read regularly and well enough to charge. This is for a few reasons:

  1. If I’m reading for others I consider it a “for entertainment purposes only” sort of thing. People pay for all forms of entertaiment so why can I get paid a little?
  2. I have spent a lot of time learning how to do this. Some sort of compensation, even if just a cup of coffee, would feel nice.
  3. I had a friend who did psychic readings. Now, I don’t really agree with her method and beliefs, but other people loved her and found her to be useful. She only started charging people because she got super popular. Putting a price on it helps keep away the jackasses and people who wouldn’t value her time. It also helped make sure that people who come back don’t come back too often because people can become addicted/dependant on readings.
  4. Kind of like #2. I have no job and no real marketable skills. It’s not for lack of trying. But I do have my issues that makes finding a job incredibly hard (i.e. I gave up searching after 10+ years). If I could turn tarot into a job, even making a little here and there, I will absolutely do it.
  5. If I wasn’t charging and I did a reading and someone insisted on some sort of compensation, I would only accept if it really meant something to them. Some people just really want to show their appreciating and I think it’s rude to refuse in those cases.

Now, there are readers of all sorts out there who are absolute scumbags and they’re taking advantage of people. Some of those people are vulnerable.

One reason why I don’t read for others much is I don’t want to be accused of taking advantage, though I’d like to think I’d make sure the person I read for is sound enough of mind to know that it is for entertainment and not something super serious.

Leave a Reply

