the Hot Mess oracle – part #3 – card names

So I don’t think The Universe (hah!) wants me to create this damn deck.

Last night I had a hot bath and had very wonderful clear ideas for how I’d make the first 2 cards for a digital collage deck. When I got out I found some images to work with. But I’m stuck on my BF’s shitty laptop for now, he doesn’t have GIMP, I can’t seem to use Pixlr, I’m on 4G so I can’t download anything large, and my thumb drive is mysteriously and suddenly broken. Not to mention I just have a regular mouse… don’t get me wrong, I’ve had loads of success just using a mouse, so that wouldn’t slow me down. But still.

So fuck it. This is going to be the Hot Mess oracle (I blame Jack for the name).

So my process is going to be to practice each card on scrap paper, then draw it out on the actual card. It’ll be very thick and messy but that’ll have to work. I’ll consider that my working draft until I can complete a digital collage version of  it.

So here’s my working list of card titles I want to start with (the others aren’t completely ironed out yet):

  1. Innocence
  2. Power
  3. Intuition
  4. Creativity
  5. Authority
  6. Tradition
  7. Passion
  8. Victory
  9. Compassion
  10. Wisdom
  11. Kismet
  12. Self-Sacrifice
  13. Change
  14. Equilibrium
  15. Bondage
  16. Catastrophe
  17. Optimism
  18. Reflection
  19. Attainment
  20. Awakening
  21. Fulfillment
  22. Justice

Today I plan on sketching out Innocence and Power. Who knows how this will go. I’m just hoping that, no matter how horrible my art is, I end up with something resembling the card meanings.

Leave a Reply

