{NSFW} The Gate of Love reading

I mentioned awhile ago that I wanted to start doing readings that are included with a deck’s LWB. Well I’ve had this deck for a few months… it was a present from my BF. He wanted me to pick a “sexy deck”. I gave him a list of choices and he picked this one.

It cost more than I wanted to pay but BF insisted. So here we are.

I haven’t wanted to do a reading for it but I do like looking at the art. I pulled it out yesterday to look again and realized I really should do the spread in the LWB. It’s called “The Gate of Love” spread. The LWB says it’s “suitable for discovering something about the relationship between two people.”

I scared up a client friend and did a reading and wanted to share it for the couple, and to show off the cards. And wow it came out better than I thought! I don’t think this deck is just a novelty deck. I think it will be very nice for relationships! Like… duh 😉

I went By The Book/traditional because… because I can, ok?

The Spread

thegateoflove

The Play by Play

#1 – The Querent – Who is the Querent and how does she stand in the relationship?

I get that she is greedy in this relationship, particularly with matters of money and physical objects.

#2 – The left hand pillar – What does the Querent expect from this relationship?

I always see this card is about being alone (not lonely, just alone). So by that she wants a lot of alone time, her space. But traditionally speaking the card means spiritual guidance, council, wisdom. Maybe she wants to be able to grow intellectually in this relationship?

#3 – The right hand pillar – What does the Querent fear from this relationship?

Judgement! She fears judgement, being seen “bare” (for who she really is).

#4 – The architrave (responsibility) – What does this relationship imply for the Querent?

The Devil here represents bondage, addiction, darkness that lies within us. But I’m having a hard time plugging it into this position. Partially because the working in the book is weird and partially because maybe I’m just a bit of a dummy. I can almost suss it out though.

#5 – The lock – How does the Querent see the partner?

She sees him as constantly moving (especially mentally) and heading towards some goal.

#6 – The key – How the Querent should communicate with the partner.

This is the Knave of Wands but I initially somehow misread is as the 2 of Wands. 2 of Wands made a lot more sense here (communication should be exploratory and free). As the correct card I’m getting a bit blocked. I almost feel like she should be guarded with the way she communicates with him, and that’s what I’m getting a bit from the intuitive angle as well.

#7 – Beyond the gate – How will the relationship evolve and what is the relationship between them like?

There will be a great deal of challenge and struggling between them, even competition coming between them.

Final Thoughts

3 Wands, 3 Majors, 1 Pentacle. It sure leans heavily towards the wands, which the book says is the suit of sharp wits and willpower.

I think overall the reading came out quite interesting and it was fun to day. I really like the spread and it really made me love the cards and want to work with them again. Now I’m actually excited to do a review!

Leave a Reply

