Tarot Altar Update: Not going that well

Hello cardslingers! I haven’t been posting a whole lot because I just keep failing at everything and don’t feel like there is much to share.

My Hot Mess Oracle and Tarot of Real projects are on the back burner for a variety of reasons excuses. I feel like I could get back to reviewing decks but I feel like I need to work with a deck a lot more than I have been. I want to give each deck a fair chance, you know?

And my tarot altar… certainly going much poorer than I anticipated. I’ve tried to enjoy the journey of putting it together but my obsession with obtaining what I see in my mind has sullied it.

BUT I do have something to show!

img_4831

most of my decks!

The cube style shelf is something I got from Amazon. It has 9 sections, one in the top middle there dedicated to books, some of which are tarot related. The entire shelf isn’t a tarot-centric thing, so I won’t bother with a full shot of it.

I recently got some old stuff from storage that I hadn’t seen in 5+ years so some of that is involved here.

I had been keeping about 70% of my decks all tucked away in a closet but that was feeling kind of depressing so I lined them all up along the back there. It looks ok, I like it well enough. It’s not great. I don’t know. It’s fine for now.

You may notice the distinct lack of lovely embellished silk cloth. That’s because when I tried decorating it, it just… it didn’t work. I tried embroidering a simple border around it with my metallic thread but it just looked like shit. Like a bad kind of shit. Not the fun, touchy-tactile, hippy-boho mixed media thing that I really wanted. I didn’t even bother with the mirrors, which turned out being a bit too big overall. FML.

So instead I’m using a scarf sort of thing from storage. I’ve had this thing for quite awhile and I have always used it to mark off sacred space. So in a way it’s better than my silk cloth. It’s a little more special because my brain already has a built in association with it. It’s seen some shit, man.

From right to left: my tarot book (just spreads I love, for now), my selenite/fluorite wand, a tiny little hand carved opal skull.

My Darkstar wand, and my amethyst crystal.

The last bit on the right has my laughing Buddha. I don’t remember the circumstances around obtaining him. Maybe mid 2000s? The stone is ulexite,  given to me by a new friend this year.

The little box was given to me by a friend in the early 2000s. It has always housed my runes:

29549188985_ce95555fea_b

Runes have failed to capture my heart like tarot, but I’m thinking of giving it another go.

I don’t remember exactly when I got these runes but I’m pretty sure I got them off eBay. Must have been early 2000s as I don’t remember keeping anything else in that box.

The box sits on top of The Book of Runes. It was another gift from the mid 2000’s, I believe.

And I think that’s it! It looks a lot nicer than all the junk I had up there before. It’s kind of peaceful. I can’t do any large readings there but I could certainly toss out a few cards for a quick reading or to keep out to visit throughout the day. I will probably move all the tarot to one of the shelves so I have more room for junk. I’m fairly happy with it for now.

Has anybody else been working on any sorts of altars? I’d love to hear about it!

 

 

3 comments

  1. I don’t read cards on my altar, but that’s only because it’s too small for that. I just sit on the floor and read them there. My altar is an old bench seat with a metal frame, 30’s or 40’s era I think, I really like it. I just put a pillow on it and I can use it to sit in front of my vanity(also it covers the wax stains lol), I take the pillow off and put my altar clothe over it, and wala! hehe

    Meno

    Like

Leave a Reply

