mini review – my first deck: the Goddess tarot

I often reminisce on my very first tarot deck. I have a crummy memory so I was never quite sure on which deck was my first, but I’m fairly sure it was this one: the Goddess tarot, art by Kris Walderr published by US Games in 1997.

 

32472617095_e6e9aa8b49_b

3 of my “favorite” cards.

 

Fair warning: I do not have a favorable opinion of this deck!

I believe I bought this deck in 1999 at a Target. I was so curious and desperate to get started for tarot and pretty much bought the deck without getting to preview it first. I did not connect with the deck at all. It was quickly set aside and my next deck was given to me around a couple years later.

My main beef with this deck:  while the actual art is nicely executed, the color palette is just not my thing. My secondary beef is the multiple borders. There’s technically four. I think if the art took up the whole card I would be able to stomach the palette a little bit better.

Things I like about this deck: I guess the cardstock. I’ve always liked US Games’ cardstock. Oh, and the backs are pleasant enough.

31629125054_63e779d6e4_b

An interesting thing to note is that the majors are named after goddesses. This doesn’t do much for me but it is mildly interesting. Something else to note is that the cards are wider than a standard deck.

This deck has spent 99% of its existence in storage and I haven’t missed it at all. The last few years I’ve thought about it and wondered if maybe it would grow on me. I got it back from storage last summer. lolnope! I still don’t like it. I’m ready to give it away and luckily I have someone in mind.

I’m curious about if you’ve had a deck for years and years and years, hoping that you’ll end up liking it…. what happened? Did it grow on you, or did you still not like it?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

