Tarot Lies #2: You have to be gifted your first deck

hah. I started this post months ago. I guess it’s worth finishing and putting up…

Previously on Tarot Lies, we discussed how we’re told we can’t read for ourselves. Today I’ll be ranting about another fucking lie that really gets to me: “You have to be gifted your first deck.” From what I can tell this lie isn’t spread as much as the first one. But it still makes me roll my eyes.

25904568703_61d4d4898e_z

This deck was gifted to me in my early days of taroting, back in 2001ish.

Don’t get me wrong about gifting. It’s wonderful to give and be given a deck! And if it’s your first one, that’s fantastic! Even better if it’s a hand-me-down, something from an elder, perhaps? That is really awesome and I am jealous of people who have family members who hand their decks down. SO JELLY.

But let’s get fucking real here. If you’re afraid of buying your own deck because you think it’s bad luck, something bad will happen or whatever – you’re just being superstitious. STAHP. We don’t like superstition around here. (if you do then I apologize but you’re at the wrong blog)

I’ve done some poking around to see if there is some sort of origin behind this silly lie but I couldn’t find anything. So let’s break this down, look at it a little more logically than “DURR HURR SUPERSTITION”. (wow I’m really being a bit of a cunt now)

Gifted a First Deck

Pros:

  • Free deck, yay!
  • If it came from someone you respect, that makes it special.
  • It could be a good way to get your feet wet in the hobby, especially if you’re nervous about picking your own deck (which you totally shouldn’t be!). And specially if you hadn’t really thought to try it out before.

Cons: 

  • This is the biggest, most detrimental con I can think of: many people would be waiting their whole lives to be given a deck and that’s just depressing.
  • You may not like the deck given to you and if you’re completely new to it, it may put you off the hobby.
  • It’s just silly. Go buy your own deck if you can.

 

Buying your own Deck

Pros:

  • You got to pick your own deck, something that you were (hopefully) attracted to.
  • You get to be the one to break it in! Nothing wrong with receiving a used deck but it’s also nice to be the first to break in a deck. It’s clean, fresh, and crisp, and probably smells amazing and doesn’t have anybody else’s cooties on it.
  • You’re taking control of your wants and needs, which is rather powerful and very important here.
  • The process of looking for your very first deck can be so fun and educational. At the very least if you’re an art lover you can enjoy it as an art journey.

Cons: 

  • You just spent $15+ on something that maybe you won’t actually be into. That can be a huge chunk of money in some situations.
  • Like the last pro above, looking for your first deck can be overwhelming to some people. You may feel like you may pick the “wrong” one and that can be detrimental to your tarot future if you let it.
  • I really can’t think of any other cons. Just go buy your own deck!

 

Final Thoughts

I feel like the pros greatly outnumber the cons when it comes to buying your first deck. I really don’t know what else to say about it!

I think the only way this “rule” can work is if you have a family that is into this sort of stuff and you know it’s just a matter of time before you’ll receive your first deck. Like I said above, I think that kind of tradition is pretty neat if all parties involved are into it.

So tell me! Did you recieve your first deck as a gift? Tell me all about it! Did you have an interest in it before? Was it a family tradition thing? Was it random? Was it something you asked for? Tellll meeeee.

 

4 comments

  1. I bought my first one – a Radiant RWS. I do have a good friend who believed this superstition. He was very interested, but didn’t want to buy his first one (I don’t know where this comes from, either. My friend was the first one to say this to me) So I just bought one for him. I figured it would be a nice gesture and a way to get him into the hobby without making him feel weird. He also believed that your cards wouldn’t work right if handled by someone else. Lucky I’m not superstitious myself, because he only said this after I’d handed him my pack to flip through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a 60+ year old friend who was talking once about how she wanted a tarot deck but she felt like she had to be given one. I thought it was silly and so not like her. Maybe it was just an excuse and she wasn’t -that- interested in tarot. So I gave her one of my decks that she seemed excited about but later on when I asked her about it she didn’t remember it happening at all! So who knows with some people!

      Does your friend use the deck you gave him?

      I also want to cover the whole “you can’t let other people use your cards” lie!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

